It’s currently not possible to delete a recording from your account. All sessions will be automatically deleted from your account and from our systems, once they’ve expired, based on the session history in your subscription. On a Standard package, it’s 30 days, but you can extend the duration of the recording history on your account in your package settings.

Why can't I delete sessions (recordings)?

The reason for this is that Smartlook receives all the data in the dashboard directly from the sessions. This means that events, funnels, and even, heatmaps are generated using the session recordings in Smartlook, which shows the direct interactions the users have with your website.

If the sessions get deleted, it’ll have a direct impact on the accuracy of the data in your account, and subsequently provide inaccurate information. Conversely, this is why it's always possible to create heatmaps, events, and funnels from your recordings retroactively. As long as you have the recordings—all the data you’ll need is there.

What happens when my monthly sessions run out?

When your account runs out of monthly sessions, your projects will not record any new data. To resume recording immediately, you can upgrade your package to record more visitors on a monthly basis. Alternatively, you can wait until the next calendar month when the recording counter will be reset—it always happens on the first of the month, regardless of when your subscription billing date is.

Did this answer your question?