Recording limit (or monthly sessions limit) refers to the amount of monthly sessions your account will record for a given calendar month and is determined by your subscription. Once you deplete your recording limit, your account will stop recording new sessions, and this limit will always reset on the first of the month. All the projects under your account share a monthly session limit.
It’s important to mention this is different from the session history (also determined by your subscription), which indicates after how long a recording of each session will expire. This means that how many recordings you have stored in your account will be indirectly determined by this. With a 30-day session history, you’ll have recordings from the last 30 days in your account, as the one's recorded before will have expired already.
The billing cycle starts whenever you upgrade to a paid package. Your subscription will renew periodically (annually or monthly depending on which subscription you have purchased), e.g., a monthly subscription paid on May 25, 2021, will be automatically renewed on June 25, 2021.
The billing cycle is independent of the recording cycle, the monthly session limit will always reset on the first of the month, regardless of when your account will be charged, for example:
Let's say you have a monthly subscription that is renewed on the 19th of the month, every month.
Traffic for your website has increased this month, so you depleted your monthly sessions limit on the 15th—halfway through the month, and your account stops recording new sessions.
You were charged for your subscription on the 19th, but you didn’t start recording, as the monthly session limit (for the calendar month) was depleted.
You can either wait for the 1st of the next month for the monthly session limit to be reset, or upgrade your package to a package with more monthly sessions.
Your account will record a new session as soon as the recording limit will be reset, or your subscription upgraded to include more monthly sessions.
A couple of recording cycle-related Q&As
Q: Is it possible to set up a limit for how many sessions will project record a day?
A: This is currently not supported, the more data you have, the more complete picture you have of your customers' behavior. In case you prefer to, you can always pause the project from the project settings.
Q: Is it possible to limit recordings per project?
A: Yes, this is possible to add to your subscription - reach out to us for more information.
Q: If I upgrade the session history on my subscription, e.g., from 30 days to 90 days, will this apply retrospectively?
A: Unfortunately, no, we’ve no way of recovering the sessions that are already expired. If you upgrade the session history, this new session history will apply to the session you’ve in the account at that moment and to the new ones onwards.